Did you know that Newmarket Public Library provides you with FREE access to an outstanding collection of of databases?  All of the following databases are designed for use on a wide variety of devices, including smartphones, tablets, and laptops.  You will need to use the barcode on the back of your library card to access any of the databases.

brittanica.png

Britannica Library is actually an amalgamation of three reference resources, offering research materials through three levels of access: Children, Young Adults, and Reference Center (for adults). Content includes three encyclopedias (one of which is the Encyclopædia Britannica), new and continually updated journal articles, primary-source material, multimedia (90,000 images, videos, and audio clips), links to 129,000 expert websites, and ebooks.

There is also access to a world atlas; a “Compare Countries” tool for statistical comparisons; “How-To” documents guiding students through creating book reviews, presentations, research papers, and science reports; the “My Britannica” personal account feature for saving and sharing articles, images, and videos; and a read-aloud feature that will enable early readers to follow along. The Library is designed for use on a wide variety of devices, including smartphones, tablets, laptops, and desktop workstations; the system self-adjusts to fit the screen ­being used.


Click Here to Access Mango Languages

MANGO LANGUAGE COURSES

The Newmarket Public Library is pleased to announce that it now offers the Mango Languages online language-learning system to its patrons.

Mango is free for all library patrons and can be accessed anywhere with an Internet connection. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions. The courses are presented with an appreciation for cultural nuance and real-world application by focusing on the four key elements of language learning: vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture.  Mango offers access to 60 foreign language courses and 17 English courses taught completely in the user's native language.  Mango can be accessed at the library, remotely, or even on-the-go with apps for iPhone, Android, Kindle and Nook.  Library card holders can access Mango through the library website at newmarketlibrary.org.

 Founded in 2007, Mango Languages is the leading provider of language-learning resources in North American libraries. Mango is privately owned and headquartered in Farmington Hills, Michigan. Guided by its core purpose to enrich lives with language and culture, Mango Languages creates lovable language-learning experiences for libraries, schools, corporations, government agencies, and individuals. To learn more about the company, its innovative products, and the dynamic Mangos who make it happen, visit mangolanguages.com.

 

 

Ancestry® Library Edition delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.

Answers await everyone—whether professional or hobbyist, expert or novice, genealogist or historian—inside the more than 7,000 available databases. Here, you can unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.

This database must be used in the library and cannot be accessed from home.

HeritageQuest Online

New! HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive treasury of America genealogical sources - rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.  It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources - with coverage dating back to the 1700s - that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place's past.  This database is accessible from home or any mobile device - you will need a library card.  To access the database, click on the link and type in your patron barcode (found on the back of your library card).  Click on the link to access HeritageQuest. 


Image result for heritage quest logo


 

STUDENT RESEARCH CENTER

Valuable curriculum-related resources for grades 9-12

MASTERFILE PREMIER

Gives lifelong learners access to resources which will allow them to pursue their interests and hobbies.

CHILDREN'S AND YOUNG ADULT MAGAZINES

SEARCHASAURUS

An interactive, educational resource for elementary and middle-school students

NOVELIST K-8

Kids can search by author, title, subject or just browse through recommended reading lists.

NOVELIST

Reading recommendations for titles, authors and series.  Do you want to know what title comes next in your favorite new series?  Try Novelist!

NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES

Browse over 40 US and international newspapers and access full-text articles from 1700 publications.

CONSUMER HEALTH COMPLETE

Provides consumers with the medical resources necessary to make informed decisions about their health care and treatment options.

EXPLORA

Encyclopedic searching in Arts & Literature, Biography, Business & Careers, Current Events, Geography & Culture, Health, History and Social Sciences, Science & Math and so much more......

^ Back to Top